Skip navigation

Facebook Ads Target You Where It Hurts
My Facebook page called me fat.

Maybe it’s my age, my sex or the fact that it knew I was engaged, but the site decided I was a gal who needed to drop a few pounds. And it wasn’t shy about its tactics.

This was not a close friend taking me aside, telling me in gentle tones that she’d noticed I’d put on some weight and was there anything going on in my personal life that I needed to talk about?

Oh, no. Every time I logged in to my home page, Facebook’s ads screamed at me with all the subtlety of a drill sergeant: “MUFFIN TOP.” This particular ad had a picture of someone with said affliction. For those blissfully unacquainted with the slur, it’s when a woman wears too-tight jeans and a roll of flab hangs over her waistband.

I posted a status update that said, “Rachel doesn’t appreciate her Facebook page telling her that she has a muffin top.”

Facebook targets its advertising to users based on the information in their profiles. This is not a new concept, of course.

To read the full article: The Washington Post

Leave a Reply

